The ‘Marketing Your Business One 0 One’ social experiment

I’ve recently taken the big and exciting leap of going it alone. Yep, you read that right. After fifteen plus years of working for companies and helping them grow and prosper, I am riding solo, lone ranger style into the world of entrepreneurship http://www.leadershipinmotion.co.uk

For those that know me, entrepreneurship (at least the desire to run my own business) is not something new. My past is littered with ‘startups’

  • 2002 a personal training business
  • 2003 a sports massage business
  • 2009 Coaching and training business #1

Businesses which on the whole did well (I made money, paid the bills) but for some reason, I never pushed through to the next level on … But that’s for another post ;0).

The reason I am writing today is about marketing of your business one 0 one. What is ‘Marketing Your Business One 0 One’ you may ask?

“The first group you market your business to when you get started is your family, friend and social network”

I can imagine you scratching your head as you read the above, thinking “not exactly rocket science is this”. and you would be right, it’s not! As far back as I can remember, any sales book or conference I’ve been on one of the fundamental messages that get shared is “Reach out to your family, friends and social network first”

marketing one 0 one.png

The reason I share this is two fold

  1. We don’t do it!

You would be amazed at how few people actually do this. I train sales teams and I share the same message time and again. If one percent of the delegates action this message I would be impressed.

Heck, in my previous ‘startups’ I didn’t even do it.

2. If we do it I don’t think we do it properly.

With the rise of social media and connectivity, reaching out and marketing our service has never been easier. Linkedin, Youtube, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Messenger, … have all made it so easy to connect with and inform our close network of what we are up to. And this is the trap – “Marketing your business or services One O One” is not about posting a generic ‘post’or update and hoping that people respond. It involves reaching out to each individual. Letting them know, personally, what you are doing,  how it benefits people and how they can help.

Don’t misunderstand me – generic marketing posts are important, but If you don’t do the aforementioned one first all that happens is that your important message blurs into the background of the media blackhole and gets lost.

So here’s my experiment 😉

As I started off with, I haven’t tended to do this in the past. Reasons – try any one of the following on for size

Picture4

This, funnily enough, is where I see the difference between the past and now. Today I need this to work and getting my message out there and asking for support/business is a key part of this success, so instead of letting the above sway me, I now say the following when one of these thoughts crop up in my head

“If I don’t do the (fill in required action), then I am being irresponsible to myself, my family and the person to whom this message is going.”

You wouldn’t believe how the decision to consciously ‘be responsible’ gets me fired up and sending the message out.

So here’s my experiment 😉

Over the next few weeks, I will be directly contacting my entire ‘friendship’ circle on Facebook with information about what I’m doing, what the benefits are and how they can help. I will then be doing the same with my Linkedin connections

The experiment (for me especially is as follows)

  1. I tend to worry that I am ‘putting people out. If we are ‘friends’ or past colleagues I would hope that a friend reaching out for support would not be a putout and that we would want to help how and where we can. It also tells me very quickly about the ‘friendship’ concept lol
  2. I’m eager to see the ROI on such an activity. There will be further marketing activities but this already takes a level of time (individually messaging 500 + friends :0) takes work

So there it is Marketing Your Business One 0 One “first reach out to your family, friends and social network”

Whilst I am writing this, it would be rude not to ask you as a follower for help.

Businesses and families today are struggling, predominantly because their people (who are usually great people) don’t know how to lead. I set up Leadership in Motion because I understand that being a Leader who is a World Changer is the key to a flourishing life and business. My vision is to help develop 1000 Leaders Who are World Changers in the next 3 years.

In order to flourish in life and in business, it always helps to have somebody alongside who has a developers heart. Somebody who’s base is about helping people succeed. somebody who is equipped and skilled to help you identify the gaps. I am that person.

You could help in any of three ways

a) If you are somebody or you know somebody who is a leader could do with the above (hopefully preventative rather than fixing) please give me a shout.

b) Like and share this blog and my details to your community

c) Let me know how I can improve and add more value

http://www.leadershipinmotion.co.uk

 

 

Leave a Reply

