Give me your heart…

Read the news on any given day and you will come across stories, in business, in government, and in private lives about rebellion, divorce, strikes etc. The news is awash with signs that spouses, employees, citizens are dissatisfied with the state of leadership.

In my work developing leaders, as a leader and as a husband, this phenomenon – it’s causes and symptoms – has been an area of immense interest. There are many things that ‘leaders’ (heads of) do/don’t do at the heart of this discontent, however, I don’t think I ever truly understood the real cause until I read the following verse

“My son, give me your heart, and let your eyes delight in my ways” 

Proverbs 23:26

What I have taken from this verse is the following

  1. As a boss/spouse/father (replace ‘my son’ with the audience label specific to your situation) I expect/want/need my ‘specific audience’ hearts. Without this heart, I have little or no commitment and end up alone in my quest.

2) As a leader “and let your eyes delight in my ways” is not an instruction that must be followed by the ‘specific audience’, which is what I have realised is a trap many leaders fall into. Rather this is an instruction to the boss/spouse/father that their ways must be such that the audience delights in them.

If we as leaders do not continuously behave with honour, and integrity, and courage both when in the presence of our ‘specific audience’ and in private we will lose their hearts and this my friends is where discontent arises and the stirrings of rebellion begin.

Have a great week

 

 

Leave a Reply

